Dr. H.S. Chhabra

Dr. H.S. Chhabra

MBBS, MS (Orthopaedics)
Spine & Rehabilitation Services

Sri Balaji Action Medical Institute

32+ Years of Experience
OPD: Mon, Wed, Fri : 10:00AM - 08:00PM


Book an Appointment Download doctor Profile

Dr. H.S. Chhabra

Work Experience: 32+ Years

  • Currently associated as Chief of Spine and Rehabilitation Centre at Sri Balaji Action Medical Institute since March 2023.

  • Chief of Spine Service at Indian Spinal Injuries Centre (1991 to 2023)

  • Resident and Post Graduate Student for M.S. Orthopaedics – Central Institute of Orthopaedics, Safdarjung Hospital, New Delhi (August 1988 – June 1991)

Education & Training

  • MBBS from University College of Medical Sciences, Delhi University (1982-1986)
  • MS (Orthopaedics) – Safdarjung Hospital, New Delhi. (1988-1991)
  • Internship – Safdarjung Hospital, New Delhi (1 Jan. 1987 – 31 Jan 1987)

Research & Publication

  • 165 publications in peer reviewed Journals and 27 Chapters in books

Speciality Interest

I. Spine Surgery
  1. Robotic, Computer Navigated and O arm assisted Spine Surgery under Neuromonitoring
  2. Minimally Invasive Spine (MIS) Surgeries including Microscopic and Endoscopic Spine Surgeries
  3. Motion Preserving Spine Surgeries
  4. Spine Deformity Surgeries
For any of the following indications:
  • Deformity (Scoliosis & Kyphosis) Correction 
  • Cervical Spine Surgery- Anterior and Posterior
  • Occipitocervical Surgeries
  • Spinal Fusion (TLIF, OLIF)
  • Spine trauma 
  • Surgeries for Spinal Tuberculosis and Thoracic Myelopathy
  • Congenital Anomalies of Spine 
  • Spine Tumor  
II. Comprehensive Rehabilitation

Awards Information

  • Joint winner of the ASSI CLINICAL SCIENCE RESEARCH AWARD for 2022 for research titled: "Development of wearable artificial muscles for a tetraplegic hand".
  • Awarded title of Honorary Global Association of Physicians of Indian Origin (GAPIO) Distinguished Fellow  in recognition of contribution to healthcare (2022).
  • Best Paper Award in Korean Society of Spine Surgery annual conference (KSSS 2020) for paper titled “Motor Recovery by Epidural Stimulation after Spinal Cord Injury: Early Result of a Pilot Clinical Study”.
  • Best Spinal Surgeon award by MTI Indian Medical Tourism Summit 2020 on 1st February 2020.
  • ASSI Clinical Research Award 2019 for study titled “Transforaminal selective nerve root block using steroid vs platelet-rich plasma (PRP) in prolapsed lumbar intervertebral disc with radiculopthy – A randomized double blind trial”.
  • Awarded ASCoN Star 2018 by Asian Spinal Cord Network in appreciation of his unwavering, invaluable support extraordinary contribution to Spinal Cord Injury service development in India and the wider Asia region.
  • Felicitation by Shri J.P. Nadda, Union Minister of Health & Family Welfare for immense contribution to the realm of medicine and(or) growth of the institution on 27th April 2018.
  • Excellence in Spine & Orthopedics Award organized by India News Healthcare Awards 2018 from The Union Minister of Helath and Family Welfare, Shri Jagat Prakash Nadda, on 10th April 2018.
  • Double Helical National Health Award  by Double Helical Magazine from Union Health   Minister J P Nadda on 29th May, 2017
  • ASSI Basic Sciences Award -2017 for study titled “Validation and standardisation of a low cost PRP preparation for exploring its effect on healing grade III/IV pressure ulcers”.
  • ASSI Clinical Research Award -2017 for study titled “Development and Testing of Low Cost Motorized Wheelchair suitable for India and other Less Resourced Countries”
  • AOSAP Research Award on “Effectiveness of various diagnostic and management tools for the treatment/management of people with Pott’s spine in India-a prospective, observational cohort study”.
  • ASSI Clinical Research Award -2016 for study titled “Validation of  Simplified Sub Axial Cervical and Thoracolumbar Spine Fracture Classification Systems”
  • SCS Gold Medal Award for Best Poster Presentation 2016 for poster titled “Challenges in comprehensive  management of Spinal Cord Injuries in developing countries”.
  • Spinal Cord Society Best Poster Presentation Award-2016 for study titled “Development and Testing of Low Cost Motorized Wheelchair suitable for India and other Less Resourced Countries”.
  • ISCOS 2016 2nd Best Poster on Community Awareness Program for Prevention of SCI”
  • ASSI Basic Research Award 2015 for study titled “Pre-Clinical Studies to Standarize and Validate Stem Cell Transplantation In Case Of Disc Degeneration”.
  • ASSI Clinical Research Award 2015 for study titled “Influence of socio economic status on access to different components of SCI management across Indian Population”.
  • ASSI Clinical Research Award 2014 for Do we have an ideal classification system for Thoracolumbar and Subaxial Cervical Spine fractures: Results of a Reliability study and Questionnaire survey involving experts from across the globe.
  • ASSI Clinical Research Award 2013 for study titled “Autologous Bone Marrow Cell Transplantation in Acute Spinal Cord Injury - An Indian Pilot Study”.
  • ISCoS Society Medal Award for 2013- This Medal is awarded each year to someone who has made an outstanding contribution to the Prevention or Treatment of Spinal Cord Injury or to research related to spinal cord injury
  • XXIII National Excellency Award by TP Jhunjhunwala Foundation in the field of Medicine for the year 2013
  • President's Appreciation Award by Indian Medical Association South Delhi Branch for the year 2013
  • ASSI Basic Research Award 2012 for Study titled “Validation of bone marrow cells for autologous bone marrow cell transplantation in persons with acute spinal cord injury - An Indian Pilot Study.”
  • Awarded by the prestigious award “Oder of the star of the Italian solidarity” (OSSI) by the President of the Republic, Italian Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs, in 2007, 
  • Rashtriya Rattan Award for the year 2006 by International Study Circle, Forum of Intellectuals. 
  • Recognized by Delhi Medical Association for Distinguished Contribution towards development of specialty of orthopedics on 1st July 2006.


  • President, Spine Society Delhi Chapter (2022 - present)
  • President, Spinal Cord Society (2020 - present)
  • President, Association of National Board Accredited Institutions (ANBAI) (2023 - present)
  • Chairman, Spine Wellness & Care Foundation
  • Immediate Past President - Association of Spine Surgeons of India (ASSI), 2021 -2023 
  • Immediate Past President - International Spinal Cord Society (ISCoS), 2020 – 21
  • Steering Committee Member, Ao Spine Knowledge Forum Trauma (Jan 2023 onwards)
  • Chairperson, Spine20 2023 India
  • Executive Member - Asian Spinal Cord Network  (ASCoN)
  • Member of Sub-group on Road Traffic Injuries (National Injury Prevention Strategy) under Directorate  General of Health Services, Ministry of Health and Family Welfare. 
  • Chairman, Spine Trauma Study group of International Spinal Cord Society
  • Member, SPINE20 Executive Board (2021-2024)
  • Member Advisory Committee, Stem cell expert group of Indian Council of Medical Research (ICMR), Central Drugs Standard Control Organization (CDSCO)
  • Member, Task Force of ‘Science and Technology of Yoga and Meditation (SATYAM)’, Department of Science & Technology, Ministry of Science & Technology
  • Chairman - Prevention Committee of International Spinal Cord Society (2012-2015)
  • Chairman, Education Committee of ISCoS (2008 – 2012)
  • Member Secretary – “INSPIRE” – A Research Project of ISIC with National Institute of Disability & Research, Ministry of Education, USA

Request an Appointment